German company Fraport, which recently acquired the management of 14 regional airports for 40 years, will introduce a 13-euro charge for all tickets at these airports.

This charge was included in the terms of the concession agreement between the Hellenic State and Fraport. The 14 regional airports are at Aktio, Kavala, Thessaloniki, Kerkyra, Chania, Kefalonia, Kos, Mytilene, Myconos, Rhodes, Samos, Santorini, Skiathos and Zakynthos.

A report in Ta Nea notes that the Ministers of Transport Christos Spirtzis and Finances Euclid Tsakalotos signed a joint ministerial decision last outlining the technical details on the charge.

According to the agreement, the charge can be maintained for about 4 years, during which point the German company must carry out investments worth 330 million euros at the 14 airports. After the investments have been completed, the German company can increase this ticket charge up to 18 euros.